Crapaud...

In the same way that I’ve always known that Guernsey people are known as Donkeys (and proud of it) I have always know  Jersey people as Crapauds. 
A crapaud is a toad which I think is a delightful little creature. I’ve never actually seen one because there are none in Guernsey. Popular Guernsey explanation being that when the sea rose after the Ice Age Guernsey became an island separated from Europe including Jersey we shooed all the toads to the south so that none were left in Guernsey. Presumably the Jersey people either didn’t think about it  or happily accepted the toads when Jersey became an island and there are indeedJersey toads.
In recent years Jersey people have started to call themselves Jersey Beans. I have no idea why or what it means.
Guernsey people are Donkeys because the streets of St Peter Port are too steep for horses so we had to use donkeys in the prosperous days of privateering. The other reason could be that we are as stubborn as donkeys.
I have never seen a statue of a Jersey Bean but right outside the Premier Inn is this  statue of a crapaud (toad). I rest my case!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.