An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Blue-cheeked rosellas

I noticed that there weren't any Rosellas on the Blip Big Year bird challenge list yet, so as I managed to catch this pair on one of my little conifers this morning, I thought I'd blip them.

I know the quality is not that great, the images are very heavily cropped - I had my macro lens on the camera and had to crawl on my hands and knees to get a bit closer to them! (I know they will fly off if they see me, as I have had this happen with these two several times!)

They love eating the little pine cones and are making quite a mess of the tree, scattering bits of tree everywhere and bending the branches down. This pair is an adult (the rather scruffy mostly red one) and a juvenile, who has a lot more green on it - but both have the distinctive blue cheeks. There are several varieties of rosella in Australia, with either white, blue or yellow cheeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.