Paladian

By Paladian

A complete unknown

Surprisingly quite a lot to choose from, Blip-wise, today. We could have seen a skipper that I photographed by crawling commando-wise across the lawn (that was quite a sight believe me). We could have had a robber fly that was taking a breather on the chilli plant. We could even have had an image of my incredibly fat white flower spider, who - I have worked out - catches at least one bee per day.

But you got this one.

I haven't a clue what it is. But it's the weirdest looking little thing I have ever seen. Just check out those eyes for starters! It's tiny - about the size of a grain of long grain rice. It can fly, because it got sick of me getting ever closer and took off like a rocket.

The Rower asked me how do I spot these things. Well, the answer is, they look different. You really get used to all the bugs and critters that are there day in and day out. And when you see something different, it really looks obvious. To me anyway. So then you take a photo and have a look at it to make sure it really is different, and then you get as close as you possibly can, taking photos all the while.

I've never ever seen anything with maroon and beige eyes before.

Bigger eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.