La vida de Annie

By Annie

Otterspool.

Woke up desperately unhappy and dreading the day ahead with all its happy expectations. When a walk to Otterspool was suggested I quickly agreed, not just to get out of the house but also to spend some time with #2S, #2D and partner. Of course with my wonky leg and ankle I travel at a ridiculously slow pace very difficult for young fit adults to comprehend, let alone manage to match. Still it was good to be out. After the first 100 metres I heard a distinctive bird song, and sure enough there was a robin looking at me from a nearby tree. Being one of those superstitious people who believe that "robins appear when lost loved ones are near", this made me a little tearful, but in a good way. The sun was shining, the tide was high at the promenade, and families were out walking dogs or with children trying out the new bikes and scooters they got for Christmas. There was some reminiscing among the young folk about when they did the same here 20+ years ago. They agreed that the sturdy versions they had with big wheels with proper tyres were far superior in speed and efficiency to the noisy flimsy ones now with plastic wheels the size of those on suitcases* (see musings at end). I remember how #2S kept veering away or falling off his, until I suggested that as he's left handed he should use the other foot to push, which solved the problem.
Many happy memories but so sad that time goes so fast. I hope the younger ones treasure every day - life seems infinite then and you feel immortal, as I remember. Now the years are like months and the months like days.
A long walk for me but very enjoyable and a distraction from other stuff.
I don't make NY resolutions anymore as they just set you up for failure, but I would like to improve my fitness and health and work on a more positive mental attitude.

*[ Musings - as a person of a certain age, I find myself questioning changes  more. When exactly did it become necessary to have wheels on a suitcase - and 4 wheels so it could spin - and all this even on little cabin bags? When did we start using plastic bags? When did food and drink vending machines pop up everywhere so we need never deprive ourselves of top-ups of fat and sugar between meals? When did we lose empathy for others and get so greedy? These and more questions for another day. ]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.