Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Happy New Year

Wishing all my blipmates a very happy, healthy and wonderful 2020.  Doesn't it feel odd writing 2020.  Are we going to call it twenty twenty or two thousand and twenty.

It was half day at work today and then it was dinner and celebrations at Gill's place where we walked out to the street and watched the 9.15  pm (as they turned out) fireworks.  Yes, the fireworks went ahead in Sydney but I have heard that they have raised more than $500K for the bush fire relief fund at Red Cross so I am pretty pleased about that.  It was a stinking hot day, it got to 45 C at mums in the afternoon but at 6 pm a cool Southerly came in. 

It was a terrible day for the fires in the South Coast and Victoria and sadly there are more lives lost.  I can't think of anything worse.  My thoughts are with all those and my dear friends who have lost loved ones this year.  Here is hoping that worst of it is over and looking forward to a much better 2020.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.