Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

New Year Family

Tragic news from Cairo this morning when I heard that Erica, from Australia, who was former Head of Teacher Training at the British Council in Cairo along with her husband Ahmed and their two little kiddies (son and daughter) all died in a car crash on Sunday night on the road from Cairo to Alexandria.  I got to know Erica as my boss when I was there over many years and Ahmed was a trainee on one of my CELTA courses, so I got to know him, too.  She was loved and respected and the tributes were flying into Facebook all day as people received the news.

I can’t imagine how her parents must have felt when they got the news.  Erica and her family moved to Sudan two years ago and were back in Egypt for the holidays, driving back to Alexandria, Ahmed's hometown. 

It’s impossible to have a normal day when you hear news like that.  Bb and I had a quiet, subdued lunch in La Maison, being grateful for the good things in our lives and then took a walk along the front of Copacabana. On the way back to the flat, these two wee boys (brothers) were having such a great time playing in the street today that I asked if I could take a photo of them.  Here they are with their mother.  They’re probably just a wee bit younger than Erica and Ahmed’s wee ones. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.