Warm glow- Beating heart.

This is a reprise of a photograph I took 12 years ago.

I was recovering from my first heart-attack and my dear wife bought me my first digital camera. With it's mighty 2 mega pixels I recorded just about everything that moved, unbound from the time-consuming activities of film and wet chemistry.

I took a shot, similar to this, as I walked to work at the old hospital with the smoke curling from the old boiler-house chimney, through this same pair of trees at the top of North Avenue.

Now the old place is gone, reduced to rubble and tarmacked over, the new hospital which we helped design has risen in it's place. The new chimney curls its plume of steam into a similar wintry morning.

I am retired now. My colleagues will be inside, beavering away and doing their bit for the health of the community. They are sorely stretched, these days, a target for sniping by people who should know better who seem to delight in pointing out the slips which all humans are prone to.

I chose this image from a great many I took today because to me it shows the hospital glowing in the dark and cold, the warm heart of the community, maintained by people who are doing their best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.