EAnnBlair

By EAnnBlair

Working at home

One of the nice things about being able to work at home some days is the small distractions. Inspired by the desire to get a picture for Instagram's #rustythursday this sprang to mind.
It's a WWI artillery shell. Brought back by my grandfather.
I have known it all my life. I'm my parents' house it served as a poker stand as it did in previous houses we have lived in. Now it's the doorstop for the French windows in our dining room.
Full of memories, it was referred to by daughter Emily's school friends as the bomb.
So in a simple distracting act I have connected 4 generations through my past homes to the first world war.
Thanks grandad, thanks Instagram and thank heavens for the freedom to work at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.