Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

At the Opera

(it was too late for me to deal with the computer last night --this is thurs am...)

After a busy day, H and I took Niklas and Tatum to the opera, Rossini's La Cenerentola. I thought it was delightfully funny and charming with some great tunes,--just too long for kids. Thank goodness for the wonderful whimsical rats that kept it moving...! I was sure Nik would fall asleep. He told me he was "going to have a little snooze at one point but then there was something so interesting that I just had to watch so I didn't miss anything!" (I think that's a pretty good review!....but I also know he likes to please his grandma....) His brother Oskar had told us as we were getting Nik that he was "so grateful" it was Nik and not him! Well, I had the little camera and was wishing I had the big camera that I know how to use a little better. Had one chance for a photo with the general director, but it's kind of a double exposure! Last august I blipped THIS of our general director greeting people at the top of the stairs at the opera house. This is his last year and we will miss him. We walked up those stairs last night and introduced him to the kids - Niklas ever the chatterer, gave us chuckles telling Speight how much he liked his tie! I have put these on Flickr - if you should want to see him.... Chose this for the blip both for the slightly out of focus patterns in the opera house and for the fact that we are about the last to leave, at 10:40 as these two had to finish their drawing in the program -they put masks and ? on all the characters photos, and laughed and giggled all the way home in the car. Not sure how soon we'll do another evening performance, and I hope they could get up for school today, but I think it was a memorable performance for all! I think they liked it! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.