RustyKlicker

By RustyKlicker

Dunbar Beach

I took some time out today to play a little golf. Seriously, I did.

I know its a bit on the cold side, in fact its freezing, but if you wrap up in the right clothes (sounding like my mother now) it is actually quite pleasant, especially when the course is Dunbar, one of the best links courses in Scotland for me and a joy to walk around with the coastal views and even a bit of sunshine for a while.

The issue for me is when I finally come off the course and pop into the clubhouse for a quick drink with the lads and my head goes like a beetroot, all windswept, but not interesting. Not my best look, I can tell you.

I was also a very good boy with my self control in the clubhouse, with steak pie and scampi on offer, both with lashings of chips, I declined and have come home for a smaller portion and still a visit to the gym to come.

So with the picture being of the Dunbar coastline, of course, this might be a start of a mini series (over many months I assure you) of places of significance in my childhood or long distant working past at least.

You wouldn't know it from the picture but there is a long outfall pipe running beneath the sand in the image right out to the low water line, which I helped put there many years ago as a young engineer working night shifts to get the best of the low tides.

Honest, its true!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.