Big Hill

By bighill

Thinking About Emily!

Sometimes it's just too much trouble to go over to the studio and start the wood stove etc., so on those days (the past 2-3) i've been painting in my upstairs office/studio.  it's a bit more squished, but it's warm and i still have an interesting experience.

I just discovered this wonderful female artist ... Emily Mason.....this video is so beautiful and she is my new absolute hero!  I had never heard of her, she was involved with all those American Abstract Expressionists, Pollock, DeKooning, Rothko, etc., and in all my studies over the years she was not obvious to me!  She just died a few weeks ago, at the age of 88!  anyway, i bought this fabulous book of her paintings and am studying them to understand her composition etc.  I'm on a quest for the next 3-4 months.....get closer to the nub of what i want to express!   Very exciting!

This is what i would refer to as a sketch, acrylic paint on a large sheet of stonehendge heavy printing paper...i love using a large piece of paper to do this type of quick sketch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.