The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Birch

Gus and I were just in time for the sunrise as we descended the Knott this morning - it was to be a fairly brief showing of the sun.  The filigree of birch trees in winter is one of the joys of winter.  In this shot we also have ash in the centre and evergreen yew on the right.

On the descent we stopped to watch our first sparrowhawk of the year flying high above the shilloe slopes.

The weather forecast for the afternoon was grim, but the rain and wind barely materialised and I might after all have ventured out to catch up on those two vagrant bird species. Mañana?

Instead I spent a little too much time working on my learning project that is intended to keep my brain active now that I no longer have the stimulus of complex casework. More of that anon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.