Contains spoilers...........

I was specifically looking for something with a French feel so that I could show off with my deep knowledge of contemporary culture and history.

Some of the guys from the office are having an evening out. A bite of supper and then the new motion picture "Les Miserables". The sharp-eyed amongst you will spot that I'm not joining them. I enjoy a meal with friends but I'm less inspired by the film. Firstly I know it runs for the best end of three hours and at my time of life that's a long time to stay awake if sitting in one place. It's also a long time for my bladder if I do stay awake.

And then there's the story (may be spoilers from here). Anything called "The Miserables" doesn't promise a laugh a minute but I understand that many of the main characters don't make it to the end. I know that Marcus Aurelius is in it but he doesn't deliver the whole "Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next." thing with a French accent. Wolverine is also in it too but I understand it was before he had the adamantium added to his skeleton and the retractable claws so he is, it's safe to say, not the same weapon. And they get someone else to sing SuBo's song! If they couldn't afford the original why on earth did they bother? And it's all sung. When they get to the "It is a far, far better thing that I do now than I have ever done before", which is the climax of the book, it's sung rather than spoken. Mad as a box of frogs. I know that there are probably a couple of choruses of Frère Jacques to keep the audience engaged but overall it didn't float my bateau. I think that the history might be suss too. It seems that Anne Hathaway is in the film but we all know that she had a cottage which she lent to Shakespeare so she couldn't have been in France!

I'm sure that some of you will have been helped by this analysis; I may have saved three hours of your life. Snowy Friday to come so hunker down and keep warm and keep safe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.