Blackheath Says Thank You

I drove back to Blackheath this morning, to attend, and photograph, an afternoon tea in the community hall, to thank all the emergency services personnel for their extraordinary efforts in the bushfire emergency.
I nearly didn't make the effort, but I'm so glad I did.
It was very moving.
Hot (37') and standing room only, but very moving.
An important event, which left all emergency services in no doubt as to the strength of community feeling and their appreciation.
So far, the day has proven not as bad as was feared, and tomorrow is going to be cooler.

My friend in Bermagui is staying in Canberra with her family.  It is not expected that there will be water, sewerage or electricity in her town for at least seven weeks.

The blip is of someone listening to the speeches.
There are extras to give you more of a flavour, and if you're really interested, there's a flickr set.

When I was driving home on the freeway at Penrith, I glanced down and saw that the temperature was 48'!
Surely that can't be right, I thought, but I heard later that it had reached 50', that's 122' in old money.
Words fail me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.