bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Widdop

A hard hike today across Worsthorne and Hurstwood moors with our club . A place I lived in for 15 years, so very much my old stomping ground. So many poignant, but also very hard memories. But I was in great company despite bleak weather in our harsh landscape. This is Widdop Reservoir...which I have loved for many years. I just couldn't remember all the words of Ted Hughes poem..." Widdop " , tho it's very dear to me. So just had to look it up after showering the mud off and sobering up from my past local pubs hospitality! For those who don't know , Ted Hughes was one of our Poet Laureates...brought up very near here and husband of the tragic but tremendous Sylvia Plath. I have walked many of his walks ...and adore his partnership with the photographer Fay Godwin in their book " Elmet".
Look it up....but for now...here's his poem Widdop...and my meagre tribute to Fays mono style.

Widdop.

Where there was nothing
Somebody put a frightened lake.

Where there was nothing
Stony shoulders
Broadened to support it.

A wind from between the stars
Swam down to sniff at the trembling.

Trees, holding hands,eyes closed,
Acted at world.

Some heath-grass crept close, in fear.

Nothing else
Except when a full blows through

A rip in the fabric

Out of nothingness into nothingness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.