Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Clarinda

One of my meetings was cancelled today at short notice so I put my coat on & went for a wander up the Royal Mile. For the first time ever I went into the Canongate Kirkyard looking for the grave of Adam Smith because I'd just walked past Panmure Close, where he'd lived. The church was closed for 'rehearsals' (I could hear singing) & unfortunately I couldn't see any information outside so I wandered around some of the gravestones. I didn't find Adam Smith's grave but I did see this. Clarinda is all it says, but it didn't take much working out that this was Robert Burns' 'Clarinda' the supposed inspiration for 'Ae Fond Kiss'.

This seems to be just a Memorial & I have no idea when it was put there or where the real Clarinda was actually buried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.