LornaL

By LornaL

One friend to another

One friend to another

Me thought I found amid the careless throng
One such as I should wish my friend to be
One, who would stand by me through right and wrong
Friend! thou’lt not fail when I have need of thee!

What tho’ we be rivals, Let it be!
Are not all men rivals? Is not life a race?
The one true winner of life’s race is he
Who helps a fallen neighbour to a safer place

Not his the laurels on the victor’s crown
Not his the triumph or the pageantry
The heavens themselves grant him a fairer crown
Of love, patience, a sweet sympathy

If e’re it be my chance to aid thee friend in part
God let me do it with a loving heart

December 1928 Age 14


This is a third poem included at the end of Lorna's book Told round the fire. We do love those bunnies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.