JVM my life

By JulieVMac

Salton Sea

Another blast from the past - I was last here 22 years ago with my two buddies Pat and Dave (I was a very young and innocent postdoc at the time) how things have changed. This place remained in my mind as I was struck by what it could have been and was for a while before the salt levels rose, the fish died and the people stayed away. The sign to Julian popped up and immediately transported me back to our fab road trip many years ago.

We visited the Sonny Bono Wetland Area and where entertained by the hundreds of snow geese honking loudly and trying to land on the water. I really hope they can do something about the rising salt levels, millions of migratory birds rely on the salton sea as a stopping off point!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.