Hard graft

It was back to the grind. Although my grind can never be said to be as draining as the grind of these guys, working on the road in high heat and humidity. This patch had been in a laughably bad state, with a large hole and big blue barrel plonked within it, alerting motorists to the danger. It’s a common belief that January is a lean month in Mozambique with the government coffers drained and many officials on a long summer holiday. Therefore I was pleased to see this de-barrelling work which must be resourced by some hidden corner of a random ministry.

I am trying to be more domesticated in 2020. I was able to eat bircher muesli I’d made overnight and prepare extra coffee to take to the office. These count as significant milestones compared to the hot mess of last year, who, through poor planning, would have to seek nourishment wherever he was, whenever the urge came over him. This became expensive.

Even though the mercury is reaching epic levels, I rejoined the gym in the evening and sweated my way through an hour there. Another reasonably successful attempt at achieving balance as the most important aspect was that I didn’t spend the evening scrunched in front of the laptop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.