Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Spider web icicle

Took a walk up Staxton Hill, for the views, the fresh air, and of course, a blipfoto. After shooting numerous landscapes and pano' pics like this, I spotted an icicle on a fence, the shape of which seemed similar to the tree branches in the background.
The close up was tricky to photograph, with such fine focus and little depth of field, but while taking the pics I noticed the icicle had actually formed on a spider's web... quite extraordinary.
Proving the saying that it's all in the detail!

Today's day off turned into a day of all sorts to sort out, and this short walk ended up as a two hour wander, mainly to shoot with a rather nice Nikon D600 I've got on loan from Nikon UK. I like it, reminds me of my much loved old Nikon FM cameras. This photo was shot using my lovely old manual 85mm Nikkor lens, carefully focussed by me, not autofocus. Proper!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.