Old Dwelling!

I haven't been down this road for about 44 years but after dropping F.M.i.L. off at one of her Great Grandsons 1st birthday party I took Jonty for a walk. I used to live in the house on the left when I was stationed at RAF Boddington, near Cheltenham (See extra, concrete blockhouse communications centre!).
My friend owned the house and myself and another friend moved off the camp (RAF Innsworth) so we could all share the place and enjoy the freedom of not being in an RAF domestic accomodation block.
Some quite hilarious episodes, one of which one of those friends reminded me of today.
The chap that owned the house was on his way home, with the other one, both being the worse for wear after a few beers.
They came across a hedgehog and, as drunks do, took sympathy on it and took it home. The 'rescued' animal was cover over and left in the sitting room.
Naturally, it didn't stay where it was put and in the morning the hedgehog had defacated in various places around the downstairs, infesting the place and the resident labrador (Rusty) with fleas!!!!
Another time I left a note for Alan saying John and I had gone to the Hare and Hounds pub and his dinner was in the oven.
Alan arrived home, opened the oven and took out a plate of clothes pegs, grass and elastic bands. It was only a few minutes later that he turned up at the pub to join us. 
Oh the good old days.
I lived in that house in 1971 when I returned from Singapore. Went to Malta in September 1972 and returned to the house on my return in February 1974. I then left the house to get married to Marlane in May 1975 and departed for RAF Gan, Maldives, 2 weeks later! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.