A place in time

By Verbosa

Abbots Hospital

An early start for me today for my bi-annual trip to the dentist at the top of town.  Luckily, The Boy had the appointment before mine, so he picked me up on his way from Alton. 

I don't normally go into Guildford town centre so early, so I (somewhat selfishly) found it frustrating that many places were not open early, with many only opening between 9.30am and 9.45am.  So I ended up missing a number of places that I wanted to go into, although I did pop into the library to return four books and take out a further three.  Still, I can always walk back into town later in the week at a more sensible time to visit everywhere I missed today.

This snap of Abbots Hospital was taken from the slope outside Holy Trinity Church and I rather liked the old telephone box at the bottom of the shot.  However, it seemed sad that all the telephony equipment had been removed - it would make a good book nook in the centre of town.  Onslow Village (where I live) has turned the old phone box into a Book Nook, which is proving very popular with the residents and seems to be a great attraction for the young children who are always popping in and out to change books.  What a great way to introduce them to the joy of books.

Thought for the day:

"Choose Joy...Don't wait for things to get easier, simpler, better.  Life will always be complicated.  Learn to be happy right now.  Otherwise, you'll run out of time."  (Unknown)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.