Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

Something there is that doesn’t love a wall...

...and it’s ivy.  

I am conflicted about having removed the ivy from this wall.  I have been quietly ignoring the encroachment for years, happy to have a wild area beneath it for wild life, and glad of the late flowers on which so many of our winged friends depend.  But a less than subtle hint from a neighbour and the responsibility for the shared boundary got to me and I have gradually removed it, although I see no way to remove the branches that twist all the way through the centre of the wall - some as big as my wrist. 

I was out in the howling gale today, planting some clematis against the wall.   You need a lot of faith to plant in this weather - but where nature's concerned, I have plenty.

Meanwhile, my neighbours over the wall do not complain whatever I do.  They are completely silent. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.