Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Hyde Park Corner

London is finally getting its act together after New Year and today was very busy.

On the right of my picture you will see building work for the new Peninsula Hotel, sited on the Belgravia side of the roundabout.

I was lucky enough to stay in the original Peninsula Hotel on Hong Kong Harbour in 2008.

Named because it was built on the Kowloon Peninsula, it's a very tall hotel with immaculate views, especially from the penthouse bar at dusk. Noted for it's excellent colonial style afternoon tea and restaurant designed by Philipe Stark, it's one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

Here's my post from back then

And another of the view from my window

Somehow I don't think the views of Green Park quite compare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.