Encaustic

I was stopped in my tracks! Some renovation going on in this old house and nice glimpse of interesting tiles. Could I take a photo, I asked the chap rummaging in his van. He looked a bit bemused and supposed I could. Are the tiles staying I asked, he supposed they were. Good.
Want to know more about encaustic tiles - look no further

Off to book club tonight so will catch up tomorrow. It's recommendations night. Here are my three:
Elsewhere- Rosita Boland -  a sort of travelogue from the Irish Times journalist of the year. She travels to places no one else would really consider and always on her own. Here she looks at nine places she's been to including Pakistan where she had a truly hair-raising bus journey - the road literally disappeared.
West - Carys Davies - just devoured this in two sittings. So unusual. Set sometime in the Wild West and a man leaves his family and goes off to find mammoths! En route he meets a young Indian who accompanies. his daughter's story is also entwined. Brilliant.
A History of Ireland in 100 words - remember the illustrations. Riveting, written in a lively fashion, bursting with information and odd connections.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.