The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Boxed In

This unexpected image for today, taken whilst standing below the Guthrie Theatre before a meeting, turns out to be a very good metaphor for my thoughts this week. It seems that through this entire week, I have been trapped in boxes...inescapable boxes. Often beautiful boxes...prestigious hotels, lavish conference centers and offices, and the front cabin of a few jets, all with wonderful views to the exterior world. But I have been stuck in these boxes nonetheless and the views outside have been equally inviting and frustrating. No blip time, no reading, no music, no long runs or walks and, sadly, too little family time. And I am finding it unusually frustrating right now as compared to years past. Perhaps it is my age; perhaps it is the age of my children and my wish to spend more time with them. But, each year it seems that my hectic January routine of long days at work and short nights at home (or not at home) becomes a little tougher to endure.

I know that many of you also get "crunched" in your careers during the first few months of the year. If you are one of those persons, I wish you a boost of energy and a few laughs until you make it to more leisurely days.

As for this image: There is a glass observation room within the Guthrie and, as I was walking to my meeting today, I witnessed a young woman being photographed by her friend in the "yellow room". All of this took place 5 stories above me. As I have always said, wonderful things can be seen when you "just keep your chin up".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.