Memories

Last year I took some things to my old junior school for its 70th year Celebrations. The Headmistress gave them to the Pub landlady to hand back to me yesterday  as Liannes child is in the school.
Mrs Burrell had spotted my maiden name in the School log book so photocopied the entry for me.

So interesting as I never knew about it and after 68 years I have seen it.
The accident happened when I was in the girls toilets.I spread my arms out with my finger in the door jamb when squash someone went and closed the door.It seemed like hours with me screaming when the girl came out.
My finger was squashed and the nail damaged forever.
My arm was in a sling.I remember the incident well but not the Nurse taking me home.
A couple of weeks later the Actress Joan Dowling was signing autographs at the local Coliseum Cinema because her film was being shown.

I stood out of the crowd beside the ice cream kiosk where she was sitting.
She beckoned for me to go to her and she signed my autograph book.
Sadly Joan Dowling died 3 years later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.