A Lasting Legacy....

There are many things we can leave to our children.  Some are physical things that we pass on specifically, like the lathe my father-in-law gave to his middle child and oldest son, my husband.  Other things we leave behind are the things that are caught or taught like the love of working with wood that my father-in-law passed on to Dana.  Dana says that, as far as he knows, his father never turned wood and wasn't sure that Dana would be interested in doing it, so he gave him this old lathe and told him that, if it ever broke, he should call him.  Yesterday, one of the bearings wore out---and the lathe is now still and quiet until we can get it replaced. So, I was able to get this picture to honor my father-in-law and his legacy just in time for what would have been his 99th birthday and to say thank you for the many hours of pleasure that my husband has spent in his workshop space and the many beautiful things he has made to share with friends and family because of his legacy..... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.