Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

50 Years Too Early

is the title of a photography exhibition in the DLR Lexicon in Dublin. The opening ceremony was last night and I was so delighted to be there.

The photographs were taken within a 2 mile radius of Dun Laoghaire by a wonderful photographer named Nicolas Reuland.  They are visually beautiful but also funny, sympathethic and clever.  I loved every single one of them.  And he hits the nail on the head with the titles.

In my blip, you can see Nicolas in the middle.   To the left is Shay Brennan, Cathaoirleach for Dun Laoghaire Rathdown and on the right is the comedian Kevin Kildea.

Anybody who loves photography should go and see this.  It is quite simply wonderful.


******


11.30pm on Thursday ...


You have been out all day long.    is the greeting my dog gave me when I returned home.    
ALL DAY LONG, JEAN

Yes I know that Vince, but I have to go to work to earn the money to keep us all in the luxury we are accustomed to.

Yes obvs Jean.   But when you got home from work, you jumped in the shower, dried your hair, flung on your clothes and ran out the door again. And by the way you tripped over me in the kitchen and didn't say sorry.

Oh sorry Vince, I was rushing.   I do admit that.

And where were you rushing to.  

I had to go to Dun Laoghaire and then to dinner in Donnybrook.

I attended the most amazing exhibition of photographs in the big library in Dun Laoghaire, you know the place Vince, we sometimes sit on the wall outside while I have coffee before we walk the pier.

I don't understand Jean - I thought a library was just full of musty old bukes (Vince lapses into a very Dublin accent sometimes).

No no no Vince - this library was made in heaven.   It's full of light, and yes books, but art, cinema, poetry, chat,  - it's just heaven to walk through the front door.   You could spend a whole week in there and be happy.

Yes, yes Jean.    But whose photographs were they.

Well Vincemeister.    You know the journal I told you about.   Well he is also on Blip and his name is Raheny_Eye.

Raheny!   Raheny!   - a guy from Raheny is taking photos of your Dun Laoghaire Jean.

No No Vince - he isn't from Raheny.   He is from France.

France! Jean - he is from France!!

So let me get this clear.......     He calls himself Raheny, he takes photos of Dun Laoghaire and he is from France.  The dude is from France!

Well all I can say to that is    .......incroyable.     Jean it's quite simply incroyable.

Oh Vince you would have loved the pixtures (sometimes I lapse into a Dublin accent too - ha ha)

You would love the Dun Laoghaire ladies and their tartan trolleys, the urban jungle (such a great photo), the 2 guys having a fagbreak, the swimmers, the vases with the daffs (my favourite) in the 2 windows (what symmetry, Vince), and one of a diver (now that one would win a prize).    I could go on and on.

Ok calm down there Jean.    Just calm down.

But as I have told you many times Vince.   I was born in a little house in Dun Laoghaire beside the People's Park looking out to sea.    So that place is special to me.    And the French dude he, well, he just put it all into pixtures for me.  

******



Fifty Years Too Early - go see.

Thanks Nic.    I loved it.       
A big wave from me to another blipper also present - BS.   A true gentleman.   It was lovely to meet you both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.