Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunrise at the Local Nature Reserve

I had a fairly safe predication that the sunrise would be colourful, a bank of cloud to the west, clear sky to the east, though it did surprise me at how fast the cloud spread across the sky.  Calm conditions and I was looking for some water to make use of the reflections.  I decided to head to the local nature reserve, walking just over a mile to reach this bend in the disused canal, as it turned under a railway bridge.

After that the plan was a train ride to Birmingham, getting off a stop early and then walking in along the Tame Valley, then Birmingham and Fazeley canals.  I wanted to visit the Masters of Print exhibition at St Martins in the Bull Ring before it headed on to other venues on Tuesday,

The walk was brisk, somehow I managed to average 15:45 minutes per mile over the 11 mile route and that was despite a detour to scout a location for a photograph of Birmingham from the north.  I'd seen a shot on Flickr which I admire and I was trying to work out where it had been taken. Although I didn't find the location I think I know where it was taken now, so will be revisiting in more interesting conditions.

I reached town by lunchtime and had a leisurely time walking to the church to see the exhibition.  The prints on display are very impressive, though some of them would defy a description of photographs, they would have done justice to a painter.  I struggled to work out how they could have achieved the final result without a hefty influence from post editing.  I headed back in the late afternoon, clocking more miles to the total.

Day total: 14.24 miles

Year Total: 62.1 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.