justjen

By jenharrison

Dad

This pic is actually a bit of a cheat. They are pictures of my dad as a young man on his wedding day and several years ago at my sisters wedding. My Dad suffered a massive stroke on the 15th of November and has been in hospital ever since. Unfortunately he has made little progress in his recovery. The hospital informed us just before Christmas that the brain damage is extensive and doubt he will ever get any better. He no longer needs to be in hospital as there is little more they can do for him and he is currently bed blocking. He sadly won't ever be going home either. He is far too disabled for my mum to care for him as he requires 24 hour nursing care. A bed in a nursing home is currently being sought for him. However that could be anywhere in the country as only certain homes have the facilities he needs. It is very sad and distressing for all of us. There is a man that lies in a bed that looks like my Dad, but really the man I knew as Dad is gone. I have been struggling with this and feeling particularly useless as I'm so far away from him and my Mum. Life can be cruel. In my head he will always a big strong bear of a man. The man I call Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.