Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Sunset

The sun has just gone down. Nightfall is very sudden but the colours in the sky are magnificent behind the coconut trees. Today has been an eventful day. I got up at first light and went to the cowshed to assist with the hand milking. There were lots of wading birds on the river and people who had come down to wash themselves and their clothes and to examine the fishing nets they had set overnight. I spent the morning with Bonoi the cook as he explained the preparation of the many curries and other dishes In the vegetarian kitchen. He then took me over to the staff and meat kitchen which has to be separate Here he prepared a chicken curry and curried fish parcels in banana leaves. He was great company and very informative. He showed me pictures of his house and the state of it after the terrible floods 18 months ago. In the kitchens which are well above the river it flooded to a depth of four feet. We had the fish for our lunch on the non-vegetarian covered terrace. I was glad we had chosen the non-vegetarian option just for today as the fish was served in the upper terrace with magnificent views down the river. In the afternoon I had my Ayurveda treatment which involves having hot oil poured all over me and being vigourously massaged. I had had a consultation with the higher Ayurvedic doctor previously and he had suggested I have the oil treatment which involves a continuous stream of oil being poured on the forehead and a head massage. This actually sent me to sleep!. Tonight‘s yoga session was excellent. Amil is a very experienced teacher who is immersed in the principles and philosophy of yoga and it shows in his whole demeanour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.