Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Cheers!

Yesterday, as the rain pelted down and all the ferries - even Western Ferries - went off because of the wind, I feared that today's planned birthday visit from one half of our family wouldn't happen. Even when I woke - back in my own bed, with a view of the sea - it was still blowing, and the waves were white as they broke along the East Bay. But the promised improvement happened, almost without my noticing, and the chaps were on their way. 

I've chosen to blip the moment of celebration before an early dinner and their return home. James is wearing a fleece of mine, as his dreadful grandmother had somehow contrived to let him be soaked to the skin in one of our mad expeditions in the rain, and the tumble drier is even now doing its thing in the background. I'm still tickled pink to have both sides of my family within day-trip distance of here, even if the football season will mean that we'll be doing the trips as well as them. 

To finish off a lovely day, the birthday boy got a present of a set-top box to allow us to watch Netflix and other delights, so we've spent the evening watching The Two Popes. What a marvellous film, and what splendid acting from Anthony Hopkins and Jonathan Pryce  - we were absolutely riveted. But now I have to print off a sermon and get to bed - I'll be fit for nothing in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.