Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Butcher/watching snow.

I have taken refuge in the Shire (Inverness-shire). I am just north of the great swathes of snow that are sweeping over the country and I can see the clouds across the firth teasing me with their proximity.

To get out today I decided to run a proto-shot of an upcoming, personal photographic project I want to do in St Andrews which will comprise the combination of environmental audio and portraits of artisanal workers. So, to start I trunched down to the local butcher shop in Rosemarkie called Comfort Foods.

I told the guy (pictured) about my project but introduced it as focusing on partisan trade workers. Now I might be mistaken, but I'm fairly sure that you don't get bands of guerrilla butchers and bakers setting up road blocks in the aisles of Tesco, sabotaging the meat and lobbing floury baps at kids in trollies. Maybe you do in some of the rougher areas of the world. Bands of bakers such as the The Tamil Tiger-breads ... sorry.

Anyway, here is the audio. It is a little rough around the edges and I hope to develop and actual process to the project so that it is consistant and fluid. This audio, however, does record the process of the portrait being taken. See if you can hear the shutter going. The last clack was the portrait you see above.

p.s. open in a different tab!

p.p.s. It might work better on my Tumblr - feel free to add me if you have a Tumblr too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.