A Lovely Little Cemetery on a Hill

And then things turned unseasonably mild, with high temperatures around 60 degrees F. I think we broke a bunch of records. It approached the all-time high for January 11th here. And it felt really, really strange to be walking around in mid-January without even a jacket!

We decided to seize the opportunity to get outdoors, so we had lunch at Jim's and then headed to Bald Eagle State Park. There we took several small hikes around Upper and Lower Greens Run. We walked through the mud along the lake. We explored an abandoned road that is being taken back by Nature, slowly but surely (see the extras).

And then there was my favorite of the day's hikes: a stroll around a pretty little cemetery called Sand Hill Cemetery. Some of the graves are quite old, and bear names like Leathers (lots and lots of Leathers) and Swabb.

I loved the way it all looked, so I took quite a few photos. I am especially a fan of the little flags, which began to blow as the breeze kicked up. It looks like a deserted spot, but it is actually very well maintained: a lovely little cemetery on a hill.

The song to accompany this image is a favorite, and this is the best version of it that I know of. Here are Dave Matthews and Emmylou Harris with Gravedigger. I'm linking to the entire video of the CMT Crossroads performance that features the pair of them. You are welcome to watch it all (it's pretty good!) but the very first song is the one that I intended to include.

Gravedigger
When you dig my grave
Could you make it shallow
So that I can feel the rain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.