Night sky

Holiday Day 7
A day's walk north along the Oulanka River. There were bits through the forest, bits on roads (probably dirt roads under the thick snow), a bit aong a frozen stream (though not so frozen in places), a section round a frozen lake and marsh and arriving at a sort of logoon in the river.
There was a shelter across the river but as there was open water a short way in each direction no-one ventured across the ice to get to it. Instead we stopped at a fireplace on the headland, ate salmon & potato soup and cooked (and ate) reindeer sausages. See extra.
The return home was via a slightly different route to the end of the road and then we were free to make our own way back, either direct or using any or all of the outward diversions. I opted to go round the lake and marsh again as it was so peaceful except for the noise of my snowshoes, and I had that bit to myself.
Late evening we went about half a mile up the road to see if the Northern LIghts would appear and view the stars. I attempted some pics but as I had to rest the camera on my rucksack and couldn't really see through the viewfinder they weren't very successful (I'd left my tripod at home, which was very silly). However, I did get a reasonable one of Orion and this one which isn't bad with a bit of pfaffing.
After and hour and no Lights I went back and got ready for bed only to hear the Lights had appeared so, after a bit of indecision, I re-dressed and went back. They were fading at that point and I didn't attempt any pics, but at least I got a view

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.