Crossing over

For the past 3 weeks I have been part of a team from work doing palliative cares for a client in her home.
A wonderful person with a beautiful family.
It’s been more than just a job for me. I have got on so well with them all and  the client and I just seemed to have a lot in common and have talked about so many different things while I’ve sat by her bedside.

Today was hard.
We all knew it was coming .
She slipped away peacefully this afternoon.

The family had asked me a week ago if I would join them , when the time came, to do the final cares of their mother with them, to wash her and dress her , as a friend not a carer.

I’ve looked at this view every day for the past 3 weeks as I’ve driven to her house , and as I went there tonight this was the evening sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.