Day 014/20. The Banana - A much travelled fruit.

With my newly adopted high(er) fibre diet, I've grown to love bananas again. I know they are shipped great distances by sea, I know they are packed before being ripe. I also know that bananas are one of Britains most popular fruits. It's a huge business, in the UK alone, we import over 5 Billion Bananas each year.
Originally, bananas came from Asia but today they come from all over the world. Most of the bananas sold in the UK come from Latin America, whereas India produces the most bananas overall.
Africans are credited to have given the present name, since the word banana would be derived from the Arab for ‘finger’.
Bananas started to be traded internationally by the end of the fourteenth century. The development of railroads and technological advances in refrigerated maritime transport subsequently enable bananas to become the most traded fruit in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.