P3dro

By P3dro

Unfamiliar

When I went out with my camera subjects that would have been everyday and probably not particularly interesting to other Liverpool residents fascinated me because they were unfamiliar.

LYNETTE ARDEN 1974

I was set a challenge to take a photo that fitted that quote. I wanted something that was identifiably Liverpool, but not necessarily iconic. So, the Liver Building was out.

In the end, I decided that the best way to try and see what Lynette was getting at was to mount the camera on a tripod, stick it in the front footwell of the car and simply drive around, pressing the shutter at random moments to see what I came up with. I had no idea whether I would get anything interesting or worthy of posting as a response to the challenge.

I filled a memory card and then drove home. Out of more than 200 pictures, this one seemed to fit the brief the best. Its a road I drive at least once a week - Upper Parliament St. Its on the edge of a part of town that has some of the most stunning residential architecture in Liverpool. Its instantly identifiable, but I?d reckon that because its on a major route in and out of the city, so many people drive along here to or from work without really looking.

I picked a few more that worked, although probably not as well and put them all through a Lomo action in Photoshop. That too seemed to make sense - it gives a 70s feel to the photos which, of course, also refers back to the date of the quote.

Other candidates here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.