The Big Golden Dog

By Cowlieowlie

The Pianoforte

I am the proud owner of this rather out of tune but nevertheless lovely piano. Never mind, the tuner is coming next week. I am rather addicted to playing and have been for the past... five, I think, years. I sit down often with the intention of just playing one tune, but then of course....

Well, let's just say it sometimes makes me a bit late for things.

Today I learnt the last half of the tune to a dance called ' The Sands of Morar'. The tune itself is called 'Pinkie House', I believe. Scottish country dance music is generally quite easy to play, and this one was no exception. Getting the timing right can sometimes be hard though; playing with the right rhythm is fine, but the rhythm can of course be played faster or slower. I tend to err on the fast side. The problem is that if you are playing for dancers, they can't keep up / have to dance really slowly if you get it wrong! Luckily I do not have to do that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.