littlemissquirk

By littlemissquirk

Insomnia

The routine returns... Go to bed at 11pm exhausted wake up at 12.15am wide wide awake whilst a zillion electric shocks dance angrily through my legs. Last night was a tearful one as five weeks post op recovery feels a distant dream.
So I got myself up, duvet dragged downstairs and finally after 9 years of resistance, I pressed play on Game of Thrones. I may have many hours to kill the next few months so maybe full recovery will coincide with the last episode. Better not disappoint

Finally fell asleep at 5.30 to be woken at 7 to go to work via the docs who called me in for yet another blood test as my haemoglobin levels have gone through the floor. Got a bit tearful to a young and slightly scared nurse who arranged the GP to phone me and finally ditched my old best friend Mickey Morphine who's taken me to bed for a month and frankly not lived up to my expectations of numbing bliss. I now have Norman Nortriptyline who promises to reduce the nerve party and woo me to sleep.
Work was uneventful with a silent standoff betwixt me and the Walrus. Watched his paranoia seep in as I politely ignored him all day,. One good thing about being seen to be cheery happy girl at all times, is when you switch it off, it has a permafrost effect. Tee hee.
Anyway, nice patients, one eventful retinal haemorrhage sent up to the Eye Pavilion but otherwise I coped all be sore as could be.
Bath, lasagne, in bed with Norman by 10pm.
Nigbt night

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.