Busy Morning

Yesterday we had gales and lashing rain. As I was driving past the Coney Hill area of Gloucester the wind had strewn recycling boxes, out for collection, across the road scattering the contents everywhere.
I slowed and it looked like it was plastic and paper so I drove on. I soon heard a clattering noise and thought a plastic fruit/tomato box had got caught but when I got home I soon saw that I had a flat rear offside tyre (Nearside for those that drive on the wrong side of the road!).
Couldn't do anything yesterday but this morning we only had a couple of showers, no wind and some sunshine so rather than use my emergency puncture repair kit, that came with the car, I removed the whole wheel and took it to Malvern Tyres in Gloucester.
They were, as always, brilliant and advise that because the puncture was in the centre of the tread they would be able to repair rather than replace. Difference is £20 or £100 so I was quite pleased with that.

Nice view from Malvern Tyres too, see extra.

Got home, unloaded the shopping that I got on the way home and put the wheel back on Voilà!

Very few cars, nowadays, have a spare wheel but have some sort of emergency repair kit with a 12v air pump. I expect it is because Tyre technology has advanced so far over the past 20 years or so that punctures are comparitively rare. I don't think I've had a puncture for 10 years or more.

Edit Note - I blipped that ruin of the priory in the foreground a while ago, interesting story of an amazing woman.
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2489164882029578050

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.