The Hover

The quick hover before the pounce.

A hungry short-eared owl and up on the exposed hillside in freezing temperatures with a chill wind, who would blame him, although he didn't rush to grab an early tea. This was unfortunate as both JDO and myself had packed it in after a time as the sky had gone black, with the rain coming in driving us back to the cars. Surprisingly the sky cleared after a bit and it was all back on again. Finally, finally he showed up coursing against the wind for his crunchy snack and I was very glad of my pocket warmer and gilet from Santa which is electrically heated with a power pack in the pocket. Very snug.

My Extra is the owl with a vole being harassed mercilessly by a kestrel who wouldn't give up and they ended up in the far distance with who knows what outcome. As the owl had worked hard for his tea I did want him to have it and not get it stolen from under him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.