Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

A Long Week Already!

There was a little snow on the ground Monday morning when I went to the Y to play pickleball. I thought about driving the 4WD Forester, but decided to take the Kona -- front wheel drive only -- a decision I soon regretted. By the time I came home the snow was deeper, and I knew it was going to be a challenge to get up Governor Road, the last stretch before home.

The worst thing to do when trying to drive uphill in snow or on ice is to slow down once you've started, and if you have to stop it's very difficult to start again. Governor Rd is tricky because it's like a staircase and you can't see all the way to the top. You just have to hope that you'll have an unobstructed run.

I managed to maintain my speed just at the point where the car was fish-tailing slightly and I thought I was going to make it all the way to the top -- until I encountered another car stalled in the middle of the last ascent. It was just below the parked car in the first extra. It was impossible to climb any higher.

With a little help from a younger neighbor, I was able to get the car off onto a side street where it wasn't likely to be hit by someone skidding out of control, and walked the short distance home. 

After the snow plow (2nd extra) came on Tuesday I was very happy to be able to retrieve the car without any problems. I was even happier today when I saw how much more snow had fallen overnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.