lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Parakeet in the snow

This morning I was waiting to see if it would snow on time. Sure enough, a few minutes after 8am a flurry of tiny flakes began. Mid morning this turned to big flakes. By 2pm my office was mostly deserted. I left shortly before 3pm and trekked home via the park. There were a lot of people in the park, kids sledging and people walking rather excitable dogs.

There's a childrens centre in the park and they've put up some bird feeders. A parakeets were using one of them as a perch. It seems so strange seeing these tropical birds in snow, not looking too uncomfortable. They are an invasive specie which some argue threatens our native birds but they are so pretty and colourful I can't bring myself to hate them.

I'm not sure what I'm going to do this weekend. I imagine I'll be taking some more photos and walking around some more in the snow. I hope it clears by Monday morning, it'd be nice not to be on my own at work. I live too close to have an excuse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.