Wainwright's Socks

I'd read about a wolf's skeleton found on Kendal Fell many years ago, that was exhibited in Kendal Museum. I found the skeleton in Museum's "Wildlife" section. What I had not anticipated was the fact that the museum is a one of the oldest in the country and was founded by a taxidermist in 1796. The "Wildlife" section is like walking back in time into a Victorian museum full of exhibits of trophies from bounty hunters 200 years ago. I found it quite distasteful.
Instead you get a shot of a pair of Alfred Wainwright 's (1907- 1991), well darned socks. The  card reads
" If dear Reader, you get a bit if grit in your socks as you are crossing Haystacks in the years to come, treat it with respect. It might be me!    His wife scattered his ashes at Innominate Tarn  near the peak of Haystacks in accordance with his wishes expressed in Vol 7 of his walks. I asked Mr P if he said Hello to Mr W on his way past the tarn but he had not known he was there.  Never mind, next time and perhaps I could swim there, although it sounds rather high up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.