kirstymill

By kirstymill

Cowrie collection

Another busy day at work, though I had a good extended lunch break with a work friend. It was good to catch up. When I got home I was quite tired so, after a quick dinner, I vegged in front of the TV for a bit.

Then this little pot of cowrie shells, which always sits on a shelf beneath my TV, caught my eye. This collection of shells means a lot to me. All of these shells come from Mull and Iona, collected on one of the sandy beaches on the Ross of Mull or on Iona. It's my wee reminder of a place I love, of beautiful spaces and time with family, fun and relaxation. The shells are also lovely objects in their own right. They've been collected over many years and I'll hopefully add to my collection later this year.

I liked this shot. It makes me feel like I could dive right in. If I did, maybe it would take me all the way to Mull .....?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.