Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Federico

I’ve been experiencing a severe loss of my blip mojo since the dawn of the new decade but have been determined to overcome it and start taking some pictures again!

So, when I popped into Italian café bar Carlisi on Dale St today, I seized the opportunity to grab this shot of one of the proprietors, the fabulous Federico. What a charming chap!

The Carlisi family, from Sicily, are a prime example of why I remain a proud European! They serve charcuterie (which I’m reliably informed by my carnivorous friends and colleagues is excellent) but also a fine selection of veggie and vegan options, from breakfast through to the night-time. Well worth a visit, whether for coffee or cocktails.

Independent businesses are so important to the life of the community and, as I know I’ve noted previously, have a passion for what they do and the service they provide to their customers which is rarely matched by the big chains.

Grazie, Federico!

Strictly speaking, today’s tune should probably be Billy Joel’s ‘Scenes from an Italian Restaurant’ but I can’t help preferring Suzanne Vega’s ‘Tom’s Diner’! https://youtu.be/DkYPge6ZKSQ

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.