Onion

Designed by Eiffel and built as the governor’s residence, I’ve blipped Maputo’s Iron House before. It was later declared to be too hot to serve comfortably as a home. That doesn’t seem to be rocket science for a building made entirely of metal in the often blistering Mozambican sun.

I completed my 2019 expenses claims.

I’m eating too much red onion if mouth and skin are reliable indicators.

I fought through hordes of expectant queuers, thronging the nearby police station for enrolment papers.

I had some Skype calls with UK colleagues during which I realised the quiet month in Maputo (many partner and government staff are on leave) has manifested itself in verbal diarrhoea when I have human contact.

I realised I have to make plans for a fairly impromptu field trip next month, which should be very useful in terms of work deliverables.

I did some priority setting for the year and was approved for a UK trip in March for my next visa renewal (which couldn’t logically be denied).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.