iaint

By iaint

Room with a view

The view from my tent at camp 5. "Base camp" at the end of the 5th day of trekking. Over 15,000 ft.

Tying a shoelace leaves you out of breath for quite a while.

We didn't travel a huge distance on day 5, but some of it was quite steep and the lack of oxygen was taking all the fun out of it.

We were encouraged to get some sleep in the late afternoon. Plan was to have dinner at the usual time, sleep a bit more, and then set off for the summit at 11pm.

The trouble is, by then your whole system - sleeping, eating, breathing - is so f***ed up you don't know what you want to do when.

I slept for an hour or two at the most between getting to the camp at setting off for the summit.

I wish I could Blip some of the photos which others took of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.